Rep. Matt Dowling was born and raised in these Laurel Highlands of Pennsylvania. He calls our hills and mountains “home” – this region is where he’s chosen to build a business and a family – and he calls the residents of the 51st district his neighbors and friends. To Matt, fighting for the growth of Fayette and Somerset counties and the good people who live and work here is an honor and a special calling.

A strong business background and a commonsense approach inform Matt’s actions. He realizes that the taxpayers in Pennsylvania are already overburdened – that’s why he has taken up the cause of holding the line on taxes and spending. He has advanced legislation that protects our small businesses, which represent the backbone of economic vitality in Pennsylvania, and accounts for a significant share of the state’s economic production and hiring.

Matt is driven by faith, family, and freedom. He is pro-life, and is dedicated to protecting the constitutional rights of all Pennsylvanians, including our Second Amendment rights.

In keeping with his passion for serving others, Matt is a former member of the Fayette County Behavioral Services Board and a former director of the Fayette Chamber of Commerce. He is Past District Governor of Rotary, an international organization of professionals committed to humanitarian service locally and globally. He and his wife Rebecca founded the annual “Share the Spirit” benefit, which has raised more than $58,000 for local non-profits in its seven-year history.

He is a graduate of Waynesburg College and Uniontown Area High School.

Matt and Rebecca have two sons, W. Pierce Dowling and Preston Dowling.

The 51st Legislative District is made up of parts of Fayette and Somerset counties. In Fayette County, the district includes the city of Uniontown and the townships of Georges, German, Henry Clay, Nicholson, South Union, Springfield, Springhill, Stewart and Wharton and the boroughs of Fairchance, Markleysburg, Ohiopyle, Point Marion and Smithfield.

In Somerset County, the district includes the townships of Addison, Elk Lick, Lower Turkeyfoot, Summit and Upper Turkeyfoot and the boroughs of Addison, Confluence, Garrett, Meyersdale, Salisbury and Ursina.