Dowling to Chair House Second Amendment Caucus
HARRISBURG – Rep. Matthew Dowling (R-Fayette/Somerset) has been named chairman of the House Second Amendment Caucus for the 2021-22 Legislative Session.

“The right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed – period,” said Dowling. “As chairman of the House Second Amendment Caucus, I look forward to taking a proactive approach to ensure our Second Amendments rights are not only protected but strengthened.”

Dowling said the Second Amendment Caucus carries a dual mission of fighting back against legislative proposals that aim to weaken Pennsylvanians’ constitutional rights, as well being proactive in advancing legislation to support and enhance those rights.

Meetings have taken place with representatives of Firearms Owners Against Crime, Gun Owners of America and the National Rifle Association, and lawmakers are working on pro-Second Amendment legislation, Dowling said.

He succeeds Rep. Jeff Pyle (R-Armstrong/Indiana/Butler), who recently retired from the House due to health reasons.

“Rep. Pyle has been an outstanding advocate for our Second Amendment rights, and for our Commonwealth as a whole,” Dowling said. “He has also been a friend and mentor, and I thank him for his service to the people of his district and all of Pennsylvania.”

Rep. Frank Burns (D-Cambria) will again serve as minority chairman of the committee. Other members of the committee include: Reps. Aaron Bernstine (R-Beaver/Butler/Lawrence), Stephanie Borowicz (R-Centre/Clinton), Bob Brooks (R-Allegheny/Westmoreland), Martin Causer (R-Cameron/McKean/Potter), Bud Cook (R-Fayette/Washington), Lynda Culver (R-Northumberland/Snyder), Eric Davanzo (R-Westmoreland), Russ Diamond (R-Lebanon), Torren Ecker (R-Adams/Cumberland), Joe Emrick (R-Northampton), Mindy Fee (R-Lancaster), Valerie Gaydos (R-Allegheny), Keith Greiner (R-Lancaster), Joseph Hamm (R-Lycoming/Union), Doyle Heffley (R-Carbon), Jonathan Hershey (R-Franklin/Juniata/Mifflin), Dave Hickernell (R-Dauphin/Lancaster), Rich Irvin (R-Blair/Huntingdon/Mifflin), Mike Jones (R-York), Barry Jozwiak (R-Berks), Rob Kauffman (R-Franklin), Dawn Keefer (R-Cumberland/York), Joe Kerwin (R-Dauphin/Schuylkill), Kate Klunk (R-York), Jerry Knowles (R-Berks/Carbon/Schuylkill), Anita Kulik (D-Allegheny), Lee James (R-Butler/Venango), Mark Longietti (D-Mercer), Dave Maloney (R-Berks), Kurt Masser (R-Columbia/Montour/Northumberland), Tom Mehaffie (R-Dauphin), Daryl Metcalfe (R-Butler), Carl Metzgar (R-Bedford/Somerset), Natalie Mihalek (R-Allegheny/Washington, David Millard (R-Columbia), Brett Miller (R-Lancaster), Marci Mustello (R-Butler), Eric Nelson (R-Westmoreland), Tim O’Neal (R-Washington), Clint Owlett (R-Tioga/Bradford/Potter), Eddie Pashinski (D-Luzerne), Mike Peifer (R-Pike/Wayne), Tracy Pennycuick (R-Montgomery), Tina Pickett (R-Bradford/Sullivan/Susquehanna), Chris Rabb (D-Philadelphia), Jack Rader (R-Monroe), Greg Rothman (R-Cumberland), David Rowe (R-Synder/Union), Frank Ryan (R-Lebanon), Chris Sainato (D-Lawrence), Tommy Sankey (R-Clearfield/Cambria), Stan Saylor (R-York), Lou Schmitt (R-Blair), Jason Silvis (R-Westmoreland/Armstrong/Indiana), Brian Smith (R-Jefferson/Indiana), Pam Snyder (D-Greene/Fayette/Washington), Craig Staats (R-Bucks), Perry Stambaugh (R-Perry/Cumberland), Jim Struzzi (R-Indiana), Jesse Topper (R-Bedford/Franklin/Fulton), Ryan Warner (R-Fayette/Westmoreland), Parke Wentling (R-Crawford/Lawrence/Mercer), Jeff Wheeland (R-Lycoming) and Dave Zimmerman (R-Lancaster).

Representative Matthew Dowling
51st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Patricia Hippler
717.772.9846 / /