Office Locations 
Capitol Office
53B East Wing
PO Box 202051
Harrisburg PA 17120-2051
Phone: (717) 783-5173
FAX: (717) 782-2963
District Offices:
Fayette Chamber of Commerce Building
65 West Main Street, Suite 200
Uniontown, PA 15401
Monday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Telephone: 724-438-6100
Fax: 724-438-6104

Meyersdale Community Center
215 Main Street, Meyersdale, PA 15552 
Open every Tuesday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Telephone: 814-634-4390

Confluence Community Center
711 Logan Place, Confluence, PA 15424 
Open the first and third Thursdays of the month from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Telephone: 814-634-4390 

Ohiopyle Stewart Community Center
15 Sherman Street, Ohiopyle, PA 15470
Open by appointment only.  Telephone: 814-634-4390
On the Eve of Primary Election Day, Dowling Highlights the Importance of Voting as He Introduces His Absentee Ballot Legislation
HARRISBURG – Recognizing the importance of voting and the right citizens have to cast their vote, Rep. Matt Dowling (R-Fayette/Somerset) has introduced legislation that would extend the deadline for accepting absentee ballots in the Commonwealth.

“The right to vote is our most sacred right,” said Dowling. “The primary goal of this commonsense legislation will allow more people to vote and fulfill that right.”

Under Dowling’s legislation any legally cast absentee ballot that is received by a county board of elections on or before 5 p.m. the day before the election day will be counted. Additionally, the bill will authorize counties to begin mailing absentee ballots to civilian absentee voters a month before an election.

As per the current Election Code, the deadline for requesting an absentee ballot is the Tuesday of the week before an election. Election officials receiving a valid request must then mail the ballot to the absentee voter. The voter must, in turn, fill out and return the ballot by 5 p.m. on the Friday immediately preceding the election in order for the ballot to be counted.

Representative Matthew Dowling
51st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Abby Krueger
717.260.6617 / /

Share |