Mar. 19, 2019

UNIONTOWN – Rep. Matthew Dowling (R-Fayette/Somerset) announced numerous local fire companies and EMS agencies were awarded state grants from the Office of the State Fire Commissioner (OSFC).

The funding comes from an ongoing grant program created by the Legislature and administered by the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency and OSFC. All funding comes from the proceeds from slot machine gaming and not General Fund tax revenue.

“Our local firefighters and EMS teams are highly valued in our communities,” said Dowling. “They devote their lives and sacrifice so much just to ensure our safety and well-being during stressful and tragic situations. I know the funds they have received will aid them greatly with repairs, equipment purchases and training.”

Below is the list of local fire companies and EMS squads and the amount they received:

Fayette County

Adah Volunteer Fire Department: $12,832.18.
Chief Williams Hook and Ladder Volunteer Fire Department: $12,997.11.
Edenborn Volunteer Fire Department: $11,824.59.
Fairchance Volunteer Fire Company: $13,162.04.
Farmington Volunteer Fire Department: $14,811.36.
Fayette Emergency Medical Service: $7,155.22.
Footedale Volunteer Fire Department: $11,677.66.
Keystone Fire Company: $12,667.25.
Markleysburg Henry Clay Volunteer Fire Department: $12,502.32.
McClellantown Volunteer Fire Company: $11,842.59.
Normalville Area Volunteer Fire Department: $12,667.25.
Ohiopyle Stewart Volunteer Fire Company: $12,007.52.
Point Marion Volunteer Fire Company: $12,007.52.
Point Marion Volunteer Fire Company EMS: $7,155.22.
Ronco Volunteer Fire Department: $11,512.73.
South Union Volunteer Fire Company: $12,172.45.
Springfield Township Volunteer Hose Company: $12,502.32.

Somerset County

Addison Volunteer Fire Company: $14,151.63.
Confluence Volunteer Fire Company: $12,337.38.
Garrett Volunteer Fire Company: $11,512.73.
Meyersdale Area Ambulance Association Inc.: $7,155.22.
Salisbury Volunteer Fire Department: $12,502.32.

Representative Matthew Dowling
51st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Abby Krueger
717.260.6617 / /